Recent

Author Topic: artificial neural networks | back propagation  (Read 29289 times)

Phil

Re: artificial neural networks | back propagation
« Reply #45 on: July 15, 2018, 09:53:16 pm »
Although that is a smart approach it is not a fast approach.
Usually speed is here the foremost importance. String manipulation does not help here.

I don't see how that would make any measurable difference. Most of the time will be spent doing the actual number crunching, not parsing the string containing the expression.

mw108

« Reply #46 on: July 26, 2018, 05:43:04 pm »
Now we just need a non-TensorFlow version of MNIST to test against.

I did a MNIST implementation using the CAI framework.

The NN layout is based on one of the CAI CIFAR learning applications, inspired by TF.

Since I'm relatively new in the whole ANN area, I honestly have no idea if I did this correctly. So bear with me. :D

The recognition rate of the test program is pretty good. However, it has major problems recognizing a 9, it always recognizes it as a 3. Don't know why.

You can find everything in this repo. Also a pretrained NN structure and weights file. You still need the CAI framework and the MNIST dataset though.

https://bitbucket.org/108bits/cai-implementations/src/64d3b892d64cb2ca231a7df37ed5d0888ae924c4/MNIST/?at=master

« Last Edit: July 26, 2018, 05:49:52 pm by mw108 »

Phil

« Reply #47 on: July 26, 2018, 07:11:00 pm »
Now we just need a non-TensorFlow version of MNIST to test against.

I did a MNIST implementation using the CAI framework.

The NN layout is based on one of the CAI CIFAR learning applications, inspired by TF.

Maybe I'm not reading your results correctly. But it looks like 20 iterations through the training loop took 2850 seconds. Is that correct? If so, that would seem very slow. MSIST.pas based on TensorFlow took a minute or less depending on system.

mw108

« Reply #48 on: July 26, 2018, 07:21:28 pm »