Recent

Author Topic: Crt console scroll back problem  (Read 7321 times)

theflakes

Crt console scroll back problem
« on: December 18, 2015, 04:34:18 pm »
Been searching on how to work around the Crt scroll back problem in Windows and can't find anything.  I'm writing a console application with a lot of text output and the output is always truncated at the top of the console window.  I just started programming in FPC and am loving it as I used to program in Delphi a very long time ago.  Any help anyone can offer is very appreciated.  Thanks

Cyrax

Re: Crt console scroll back problem
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2015, 03:35:12 am »
Unfortunately max console scroll buffer is limited to 9999 rows. You can raise that limit programmatically to maximum of 32767 - 2 rows, but it is still low for heavy duty console programs.

You can read output of your console program into your GUI program and show it inside TMemo/TSynEdit component. Now the limits of output are bitness of your program and how much memory your computer have.

Thaddy

• Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2015, 10:36:04 am »
If 9999 is not enough one would normally use a buffer that is large enough (can be a file or memory) and write a windowing procedure to do the display. That's for example how a virtual listview or a virtual treeview works. Although these not are for console mode use they demonstrate the principle. FreeVision works in much the same way and can hold data of more or less arbitrary length. (Up to certain limits). E.g.: the textmode editor fp itself can hold very large files, much larger than normally can be handled by the console.