Recent

Author Topic: Web API or REST service for Desktop APPlication  (Read 8994 times)

kamaunyrroh

• I am a slow learner programmer in VB.NET, & Pascal
Web API or REST service for Desktop APPlication
« on: October 17, 2016, 01:14:30 pm »
I would like to know how to host a file on a web service that is accessed through Database Authentication in Pascal... I want my GUI application in VB.NET to make calls to the web service program, and the web service to Authenticate if the user is in the database before allowing the user to access the dictionary contents. This file is for grammar, but I don't want to spill everything here because its my secret! How would I create such a service in pascal? You know if the document being checked is 10 pages long, and there are 100 users using the system, there would be alot of delays, and hanging of the webservice because of many users making the calls per second! How do you handle these kind of issues in pascal? If an email is the right way to go, I will gladly put it on my profile! But I have been stack for 2 years unable to create such an application in ASP MVC, or HTTPClient. Windows documentation on GUI clients making calls to web services is very tedious, and not well documented!
My email incase anyone wants to reach me: nqioweryuadfge@yandex.com

Phil

Re: Web API or REST service for Desktop APPlication
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2016, 05:04:52 pm »
Windows documentation on GUI clients making calls to web services is very tedious, and not well documented!

Calling a Web service is unrelated to whether the client is a GUI or not.

If you're already familiar with VB.NET, you might find it easier just to create an ASP.NET HTTP handler. See the .ashx example here:

http://johnnycode.com/2012/07/16/getting-json-from-asp-net-beautiful-good-bad-ugly/

Very simple to code.

-Phil

kamaunyrroh

• I am a slow learner programmer in VB.NET, & Pascal
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 10:54:20 am »