Recent

Author Topic: forum site  (Read 5061 times)

taazz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
forum site
« on: July 24, 2017, 02:39:13 pm »
there seems to be something wrong with the code tags the last couple of weeks when ever I click on the select link next to it, it does not select the text in the code tags it looks like it does nothing.
Good judgement is the result of experience … Experience is the result of bad judgement.

OS : Windows 7 64 bit
Laz: Lazarus 1.4.4 FPC 2.6.4 i386-win32-win32/win64

ASerge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
Re: forum site
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2017, 03:33:34 pm »
Same

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9792
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: forum site
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2017, 03:46:32 pm »
which browser? version? which OS?

Most browsers have a debug inspector with console, any errors/warnings, related to javascript?


« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 03:48:58 pm by Martin_fr »

howardpc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4144
Re: forum site
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2017, 03:52:51 pm »
Firefox 54.0, Linux Mint 18

Debugger shows
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. javascript:void(0);
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 03:58:13 pm by howardpc »

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9792
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: forum site
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2017, 04:05:07 pm »
Here it looks as follows:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. <a class="codeoperation" onclick="return smfSelectText(this);" href="javascript:void(0);">[Select]</a>

It should follow the onclick.

smfSelectText is part of what the forum adds to the website.
And has (sofar) worked in all major browsers.

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9792
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: forum site
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2017, 04:10:43 pm »
Btw, if you select some other text in the website, before clicking the link, does it get de-selected?

taazz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: forum site
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2017, 04:16:29 pm »
I'm using firefox 53.0.3 (32-bit) as reported on the about box. I have a number of addins including, noscript, addblocker, notrack etc installed and I need to find some time to disable them to see which if any introduces the problem. In any case here is a small code sample for test inside this thread.
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. procedure TForm1.FormChangeBounds(Sender: TObject);
  2. begin
  3.   Form2.Left:=Left;
  4.   Form2.Top:= Top + Height + 33;
  5.   Form2.Width := ClientWidth;// +9;
  6.   Form3.Left:=Left;
  7.   Form3.Top:= Form2.Top + Form2.Height + 0;
  8.   Form3.Width := Width +9;
  9.   Form2.Update;
  10.   Form3.Update;
  11. end;
  12.  
Good judgement is the result of experience … Experience is the result of bad judgement.

OS : Windows 7 64 bit
Laz: Lazarus 1.4.4 FPC 2.6.4 i386-win32-win32/win64

howardpc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4144
Re: forum site
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2017, 04:26:58 pm »
Btw, if you select some other text in the website, before clicking the link, does it get de-selected?
No, it remains selected after clicking the link.

taazz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: forum site
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2017, 04:48:20 pm »
google chrome Version 58.0.3029.110 (64-bit) has the same problem 3 different add block addins have been disabled on this site and the noscript has given the green light to execute scripts on this site too. next test is to start firefox on safe mode with no addins loaded and see if that works.

EDIT: Firefox in safe mode with all extensions disabled has the same problem.

EDIT2: Screen shot with the firefox console error.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 05:30:52 pm by taazz »
Good judgement is the result of experience … Experience is the result of bad judgement.

OS : Windows 7 64 bit
Laz: Lazarus 1.4.4 FPC 2.6.4 i386-win32-win32/win64

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9792
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: forum site
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2017, 08:45:39 pm »
Ok so the change will need changes (or updates) to the forum.

Not sure how easy that will be (I do not maintain the installation / only config issues)

https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=553445.0

So if they find a solution, then we have to see, if we can patch it into our install.

taazz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: forum site
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2017, 09:32:12 pm »
Ok so the change will need changes (or updates) to the forum.

Not sure how easy that will be (I do not maintain the installation / only config issues)

https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=553445.0

So if they find a solution, then we have to see, if we can patch it into our install.
thanks martin. Its not that important for me it was more of FYI post.
Good judgement is the result of experience … Experience is the result of bad judgement.

OS : Windows 7 64 bit
Laz: Lazarus 1.4.4 FPC 2.6.4 i386-win32-win32/win64

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018