Recent

Author Topic: Cocoa - How to get started with helping?  (Read 36880 times)

Hansaplast

• Tweaking4All.com
    • Tweaking4All
Cocoa - How to get started with helping?
« on: December 25, 2017, 05:48:12 pm »
Merry Christmas to all ...  :)

I've been using Lazarus for several years now, mostly under MacOS, which limits me to the Carbon widget-set and 32 bit applications.
With Apple's move to 64 bit / Cocoa, I think it's time Lazarus should be doing so as well.
Easier said than done of course, a lot of work still needs to be done, and a lot of work has already been done on the Cocoa widget-set (all respect for that!).

Note worthy is the very awesome bounty placed by Herman (see this bounty and this forum post)
I'd be more than happy to chip in financially, but I'm just an amateur developer and my pockets are not very deep.

Since I'm no expert developer (I just do this for fun), I was wondering how we (Mac users) can do to help in other ways.
Obviously there is the bug reporting, but with the current state of Cocoa I do not even know where to begin since almost every visual component is placed incorrectly on a form. So should I list all the affected visual components in a bug report?

Just a few things I've tested:

1) Compile the IDE with the Cocoa widget set.

I'm aware that, since Cocoa in in Alpha stage, this will be problematic - so what I'm seeing is as expected.
When compiling with Cocoa and 64 bit, compilation simply fails (make clean all).

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. lazarus.pp(57,3) Fatal: Cannot find Interfaces used by Lazarus, incompatible ppu=/Users/hans/freepascal/lazarus/lcl/units/x86_64-darwin/cocoa/interfaces.ppu, package LCL

When leaving the CPU target to default (i386 I presume) however the IDE does compile ... well, after I install Quartz since for some reason the linker seems to require a X11 library.

After installing Quartz (still confused why this is needed) the IDE compiles fine, but starts with a few problems: