Recent

Author Topic: [Solved] The GDB command: "-break-delete 2" did not return any result.  (Read 2533 times)

bobonwhidbey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 590
    • Double Dummy Solver - free download
I get this error message, and my app stops, whenever I select "Generate debugging info for GDB"

What does -break-delete 2 mean?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2018, 06:36:11 pm by bobonwhidbey »
Lazarus 3.0RC2, FPC 3.2.2 x86_64-win64-win32/win64

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9792
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
Re: The GDB command: "-break-delete 2" did not return any result.
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 10:52:42 am »
The IDE instructs GDB to set and delete breakpoints. This happens, even if you do not have any breakpoints of your own.
The IDE sets some internal breakpoints to start your app. "2" is one of those. As it is no longer needed at some point during start up, the IDE tell GDB to delete it. That is "-break-delete 2".

"did not return any result" means your GDB exe is faulty. It should answer back.

Below are a couple of generic trouble shooters. From the errer you got I cant tell if they help (I havent seen that error before)
---------------------
Sometimes gdb errors happen only on (and after) the 2nd debug run.

If you start your IDE fresh, and do the first build and run of your app with debug info, does the error happen in the first run?

---------------------
You can try to change the option "InternalStartBreak" (but its a rather low chance at this point)

Menu Tools > Options > Debugger > General > search the property break.
Try any of the values,

----
You can also try to set "DisableForcedBreakpoint" to true, and "DisableLoadSymbolsForLibraries" to true.

Again rather low chance.
---------------------
Which debug type setting is selected? "Stabs" or "Dwarf (with godwarfsets)"

You can try either of the 2 (or any other, but the other are less likely.

This does not affect packages, but they contain debug info too.
You may have to go to "Additions and overrides" (search wiki) create an entry for all packages, and add -gw (for dwarf) or -gs (for stabs)

---------------------
Your OS?
32 or 64 bit CPU?  If 64, is your app is 32 bit? (and does your gdb match this)
Your GDB version?

Did you try an older gdb version

Check that it is not your anti virus interfering.

bobonwhidbey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 590
    • Double Dummy Solver - free download
Re: The GDB command: "-break-delete 2" did not return any result.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2018, 06:35:58 pm »
Thank you very much Martin. After I cleared all break points the problem disappeared.
Lazarus 3.0RC2, FPC 3.2.2 x86_64-win64-win32/win64

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018