* * *

Author Topic: SOLVED Using mouse in FreeVission  (Read 513 times)

PatBayford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
SOLVED Using mouse in FreeVission
« on: May 16, 2018, 01:08:37 am »
Help please folks - compiled the FreeVision demo, works fine BUT selecting items with the mouse does not work. Tried the Windows cmd.exe trick, but the options are not available in my 64bit Windows 10 version. Any other tricks worth trying?
I'm really interested in using FreeVision, as I really liked the old Borland TurboVision - speedy and easy to use.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2018, 01:29:27 am by PatBayford »
Lazarus 1.8.0 FPC 3.0.2 SVN 56594 Windows 10 64bit (i386-win32-win32/win64)

x2nie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Impossible=I don't know the way
    • impossible is nothing - www.x2nie.com
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 03:40:15 am »
A few days ago, I also met that our 16bit DOS application doesn't work on 64bit Win10/Win7, because that app wanna work on fullscreen.


My worked solution is to run that app inside DosBox. So, you might install DosBox first; it is like CMD/command prompt, but it runs well in my (above) machine.
When you were logged in, you can see attachments.
Lazarus Trunk @ Windows7 64bit, XP 32bit, Debian under VirtualMachine

PatBayford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 05:45:48 am »
Thanks x2nie - will give that a try
Lazarus 1.8.0 FPC 3.0.2 SVN 56594 Windows 10 64bit (i386-win32-win32/win64)

marcov

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6172
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 10:50:51 am »
You can turn off "use mouse for selection" in the properties of a link to cmd.exe

PatBayford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2018, 12:37:58 am »
Fine -  but that option NOT available in Windows 10!!!! (Or, am I, as usual, being very dense?)
Lazarus 1.8.0 FPC 3.0.2 SVN 56594 Windows 10 64bit (i386-win32-win32/win64)

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4498
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2018, 12:53:52 am »
It's just named differently: Quick Edit Mode. Here is a screenshot of the properties of the link to "testapp", the fv demo in fpc's examples folder (taken from German Windows, but you'll find the checkbox, it is on sheet Options). Unchecking the Quick Edit Mode makes the mouse operable in the fv program.
Lazarus trunk / fpc 3.0.4 / all 32-bit on Win-10

PatBayford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Using mouse in FreeVission
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2018, 01:28:35 am »
Thanks for that wp, BUT, in 64bit Windows 10 the properties window looks like the attached - I found that I had to deliberately make a shortcut in order to get the required access - THANK YOU!!!!

AND IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!
Lazarus 1.8.0 FPC 3.0.2 SVN 56594 Windows 10 64bit (i386-win32-win32/win64)

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus