Recent

Author Topic: Unable to get debugger working on V2.0RC2 -- High Sierra  (Read 4300 times)

Dr_Bob_MILLER

Unable to get debugger working on V2.0RC2 -- High Sierra
« on: November 08, 2018, 04:32:14 pm »
I am a longtime Delphi developer (since Delphi 1), with Windows-based commercial products of my own that I really want to convert to cross platform.  I am able to work with Lazarus 1.8.4 on Windows, but am new to Mac OS. I have been able to install Lazarus well enough to get it to compile and run without debugging, but have FAILED to get the debugger to work at all.

After spending several days getting the code signing set up for gdb but still not being able to run, I learned that lldb support is included in V2.0RC2.  I tried to set up for multiple Lazarus configs, but my attempts to use the command line to set this up FAILED.  (See attached file Failed_pcp.txt from a Terminal run.)

At this point, I took a chance on installing V2.0RC2 anyway, knowing it would overwrite v1.8.4.  I followed directions (as best I could figure) to set it up to use lldb as the debugger.  (See my debugger settings in attached file LLDB_Settings.png).

But once again, I could get Lazarus to compile and run a trivial test app without debugging, but debugging FAILED.  Debugger error dialog gave no specifics.

I had looked at this forum, and tried to closely follow thread http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,42863.0.html

I tried to set up a debug log (see formula I tried in attached file DebugLogFormula.rtf) but that also FAILED.  (See Terminal run in attached file DebugLogFails.txt)