Recent

Author Topic: a encryption concept problem  (Read 2170 times)

nimmy1209

a encryption concept problem
« on: November 09, 2018, 06:57:22 pm »
currently, I am a year 11 student in hong kong. I am working a console program by Pascal.
I want to enable users to register, log in, which the problem comes out.i want to store the password to a txt file such that the file work as a database. However ,i want encryption apply in it to protect the password not to read by other who get access to it.

suppose my folder only have a txt file for storing password , and a pascal file for program
question:
1.should the password in the folder already be encrypted
  .if no, where should I store my encrypted password
  .if yes, how should I protect my pascal file not to be read by other to find out the algorithm used to encrypt the password
2.i am trying to understand sha256, the component that I used to change a password how should it be protected, as I still need to decrypt it again.following is the example

one of the passwords is "aaa" I want to encrypt by adding 3 of its ASCII code means it will become "ddd" after encrypt. According to what I learn, ddd should be store but not aaa, but how can I return it to ddd . and also,if I use the opposite way to encrypt to decrypt it (ASCII CODE - 3 ),where should i put the algorithm then ,or else people will also know how to change it back tho ...

but i guess i dun really understand sha256...haha i messed up my programming skill my programming knowledge and my life

Bart

• Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: a encryption concept problem
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 07:34:10 pm »
For starters see How NOT to store passwords.

Bart

Thaddy

• Probably until I exterminate Putin.
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 09:05:49 pm »
Explanation that worked for my ten year old daughter, so since you are eleven this should help:
sha256 is a one way hash. That means you can not get your password back...You can not decrypt it...