Recent

Author Topic: IpHtmlPanel.SetHtmlFromStr and Background Color  (Read 3858 times)

Micayah Ritchie

IpHtmlPanel.SetHtmlFromStr and Background Color
« on: November 26, 2018, 06:40:32 am »
Hello,
I'm new to programming on a whole but needed a way to display superscripts in my program so I forced myself to learn basic html so I could use a IPHtmlPanel to display it. However, now I want to implement color changes and would like to assign color to highlighted text in the program using CSS rgba() but this doesn't seem to work neither in the intended way or when trying to change the background color. The hexadecimal format does work but that doesn't allow for transparency. Is there some work around without having to download, learn and convert my project to match some entirely new package?
I am using Lazarus v1.8.4 on Windows 10

Thanks much

Sample:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. IpHtmlPanel.SetHtmlFromStr(
  2.     '<html>'+
  3.     '<style type="text/css">' +
  4.     'body {' +
  5.     'background-color:rgba(50,50,500.5)}' +
  6.     '</style> '+
  7. '</html>'
  8. );

wp

Re: IpHtmlPanel.SetHtmlFromStr and Background Color
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2018, 10:24:53 am »
I'm afraid that this will not work with IpHtmlPanel: It does neither support the rgba() command, nor the background-color style for all tags. A better option may be HtmlViewer which you can install from the OnlinePackageViewer which comes with Laz 1.8.4. The syntax for loading a html text from a string is:
Code: Text  [Select][+][-]
  1. HTMLViewer1.LoadFromString(html_string);

Beyond that: What do you expect from a transparent html body? Make the desktop background shine through? This does not work, neither in Firefox nor Chrome.

Micayah Ritchie

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2018, 01:31:30 pm »
Thank you for your response. I guess I have some conversion to do then.