Recent

Author Topic: Bite the bullet on Pascal/Lazarus?  (Read 11153 times)

Handoko

• My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Bite the bullet on Pascal/Lazarus?
« Reply #30 on: January 16, 2019, 12:04:20 pm »
This kind of question, I personally think should not be ask.
Which one is better, the answer is opinionated.
You should try it yourself and answer it yourself.

Originally, you said Pascal is dead. But no, it is not. Because still lots of people using and improving it.

I'm not a professional programmer, I don't think I have such the high IQ as required to be a good professional programmer and I do not use Lazarus for commercial purposes. I should not give you advice, but here:

Don't use Lazarus/FPC for commercial project. Many year ago, I wrote a simple stock control for my friend's brother. I got a bug with a db control component. I submitted the bug report and waited. Finally, I got a reply saying the bug is fix. But actually I already solved the issue by not using that component because I had already waited ... if I remember correctly ... almost 1 year for the developer team to fix the bug.

So, if you use it commercially ... don't use Lazarus/FPC. You won't find the thing you need here. No one will be responsible for the issues you may get by using Lazarus/FPC. You don't pay any money, and Lazarus/FPC is not commercial supported software. But some of us use Lazarus for commercial projects because we can solve the problem ourselves, we can find workaround and it doesn't require high IQ to do it.

You said your IQ = 148.
I doubt it. Because you should know starting this thread, you will get lots of rude responses, hostile answers, lies, personal opinions, etc.
So, why you still started it?

~~~ Peace ~~~
 O:-)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2019, 12:57:34 pm by Handoko »

jacmoe

• Jacmoe's Cyber SoapBox
« Reply #31 on: January 16, 2019, 12:50:39 pm »
I am here (mostly lurking) because my first language was Borland Pascal back in the mid-80's 8)