Recent

Author Topic: PASCAL shared library are getting shared in multiple instances  (Read 2867 times)

selvavm

PASCAL shared library are getting shared in multiple instances
« on: February 09, 2019, 09:43:46 am »
Hi Guys,

I am really new to PASCAL and fpc. I am working on a project where I have to make the PASCAL code as a shared library and then load into FORTRAN.

I have successfully made the .so and using dlopen command I am able to load the .so in my FORTRAN. In PASCAL, I used exports command to expose some functions and they return results correctly in FORTRAN.

Now, I have to load multiple instances of this .so in my FORTRAN in a loop with different initial conditions. Also, these are loaded using openmp thread.

Here comes my problem. I could see that variables are getting shared between threads in FORTRAN and hence my results are wrong.

I tried many things in FORTRAN and PASCAL. In PASCAL, I tried threadvar, -Cg compiler flag but still no luck.

I need to implement this immediately and I am completely lost  %)

Can anyone please let me know what I can do? Thanks in advance

Note: My PASCAL code is huge and hence I can’t make any big code change or refactoring.

Thaddy

• Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: PASCAL shared library are getting shared in multiple instances
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 11:00:39 am »
This is not an FPC issue, but an architectural issue: you will run into the same issue with any programming language including FORTRAN itself.
It is not really clear to me what you actually want to achieve, maybe maintaining state on a per thread basis? in that case you need to load the dynamic library instances in the threads and not in the main program and indeed use threadvars.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 11:02:22 am by Thaddy »
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

balazsszekely

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 11:16:00 am »